Cataract

What is a cataract?

The lens is a small, normally transparent magnifying glass, located behind the pupil and which can gradually cloud for various reasons (age, trauma, inflammation, etc.). It's the cataract. The lens plays a role in the optical balance of the eye; it allows light to reach the structures necessary for the perception of the image: the retina, the optic nerve.

cataracte.jpg
cataracte 2.jpg

Why and when to operate a cataract?

When the clouding of the lens, that is to say the cataract, becomes a discomfort to the vision for the daily or professional activities, the operation of the cataract makes it possible to improve the vision (provided that it does not there is no other pathology such as for example a disease of the optic nerve or of the retina which could possibly go unnoticed before the intervention).

How is the cataract surgery performed?

The cataract intervention represents a precise ophthalmological surgical gesture; it consists in replacing the opaque content of the lens with a transparent implant. The patient is installed on the back in the operating room, in an environment where everything will be done to work in sterile conditions. The cataract procedure takes place under a microscope.

Where does the cataract operation take place and under what anesthesia?

The cataract operation is performed in day surgery (short stay not exceeding one day). Different types of anesthesia can be performed, most of the time it will be local anesthesia with drops accompanied by sedation. The two extremes being either general anesthesia or local anesthesia by instillation of drops in the eye. The choice of anesthesia depends on the ophthalmologist, taking into account if possible the wishes of the patient. Any anesthesia presents in itself a risk, this is why local anesthesia by drops is the most practiced.

Operative technique of cataract

During the cataract procedure, the contents of the lens are fragmented by ultrasound (phakoemulsification) and aspirated before being replaced by the implant. The incisions are most often self-sealing but sometimes have to be sutured. In the event of technical difficulties, the incision can be widened and the technique adopted in the particular case, until there is no possibility of placing an implant at the same time. This situation is, however, very rare. The placement of the implant cannot guarantee that the glasses will not be necessary afterwards.

Usual postoperative course after cataract surgery

A local treatment with eye drops or ointments is instituted after the intervention for a certain time. Glasses or a change of glasses are to be expected.

During this postoperative period the patient can lead a normal life (reading, office work, television, etc.) with a few exceptions:

  • the eye must be protected from infectious agents during the healing period,

  • driving a vehicle will only be authorized after sufficient visual recovery and in agreement with the ophthalmologist,

  • it will be necessary to avoid lifting too heavy things, to handle dangerous instruments,

  • it will also obviously be necessary to avoid rubbing the eyes or risking receiving a blow on the operated eye.

Source : SFO

La cataracte

Qu’est-ce qu’une cataracte ?

Le cristallin est une petite loupe normalement transparente, située derrière la pupille et qui peut s’opacifier progressivement pour diverses raisons (âge, traumatisme, inflammation, etc…). C’est la cataracte. Le cristallin joue un rôle dans l’équilibre optique de l’œil ; il permet à la lumière d’atteindre les structures nécessaires à la perception de l’image : la rétine, le nerf optique.

Pourquoi  et quand opérer la cataracte ?

Lorsque l’opacification du cristallin, c'est-à-dire la cataracte, devient une gêne à la vision pour les activités journalières ou professionnelles, l’opération de la cataracte permet d’améliorer la vision  (à condition qu’il n’y ait pas une autre pathologie comme par exemple une maladie du nerf optique ou de la rétine qui pourrait éventuellement passer inaperçue avant l’intervention).

Comment se déroule l’intervention chirurgicale de la cataracte ?

L’intervention de la cataracte représente un geste chirurgical ophtalmologique précis ; elle consiste à remplacer le contenu opaque du cristallin par un implant transparent. Le patient est installé sur le dos en salle d’opération, dans un milieu où tout sera mis en œuvre afin de travailler dans des conditions stériles. L’intervention de la cataracte se déroule sous un microscope.

Où se déroule l'opération de la cataracte et sous quelle anesthésie?

L’opération de la cataracte est réalisée en chirurgie de jour (séjour bref ne dépassant pas une journée). Différents types d’anesthésies peuvent être pratiqués, la majorité du temps ce sera une anesthésie locale avec des gouttes accompagnée d'une sédation. Les deux extrêmes étant soit une anesthésie générale soit une anesthésie locale par instillation de gouttes dans l’œil. Le choix de l’anesthésie dépend de l’ophtalmologue, en tenant compte si possible des souhaits du patient. Toute anesthésie présente en elle-même un risque, c’est pourquoi l’anesthésie locale par gouttes est la plus pratiquée.

Technique opératoire de la cataracte

Durant l'intervention de la cataracte, le contenu du cristallin est fragmenté par les ultrasons (phakoémulsification) et aspiré avant d’être remplacé par l’implant. Les incisions sont le plus souvent auto-étanches mais doivent parfois êtres suturées. En cas de difficultés techniques, l’incision peut être élargie et la technique adoptée au cas particulier, jusqu’à l’absence de possibilité de poser un implant dans le même temps opératoire. Cette situation est, cependant, très rare. La pose de l’implant ne peut pas garantir que les lunettes ne seront pas nécessaires par la suite.

Evolution postopératoire habituelle après une opération de la cataracte

Un traitement local par des collyres ou des pommades est instauré dans les suites de l’intervention pendant un certain temps. Des verres ou un changement de verres sont à prévoir.

Pendant cette période postopératoire le patient peut mener une vie normale (lecture, travaux de bureau, télévision, etc.) avec néanmoins quelques exceptions :

  • l’œil devra être protégé des agents infectieux pendant la période de cicatrisation,

  • la conduite d’un véhicule ne sera autorisée qu’après une récupération visuelle suffisante et en accord avec l’ophtalmologue,

  • il faudra éviter de soulever des choses trop lourdes, de manipuler des instruments dangereux,

  • il faudra aussi évidemment éviter de se frotter les yeux ou de risquer de recevoir un coup sur l’œil opéré.

Source : SFO

Votre Médecin Spécialiste Ophtalmologue à Bruxelles et à Namur. Suivez le Dr Vincent QIN sur les réseaux sociaux!

  • LinkedIn Social Icône
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Copyright 2020 by Dr. Vincent Qin. All rights reserved.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now