Intraocular Lenses

implant intraoculaire.png

Lens surgery, whether in the context of refractive surgery of the clear lens or cataract surgery, is systematically accompanied, with some exceptions, by the placement of an intraocular implant intended to replace your lens. This implant carries optical power, just like glasses or pre-corneal lenses.

 

 

Monofocal implants

Implant calculations performed prior to surgery usually improve or compensate for myopia or hyperopia. The classic implants are the monofaux implants, that is to say they make it possible to compensate for myopia or preoperative hyperopia of the patient. Patients usually see well without glasses from a distance, but should wear corrective lenses for presbyopia and possibly residual astigmatism. Monofocal implants are supported in Belgium by INAMI social security as part of cataract surgery.

 

However, there are also more sophisticated implants, correcting other visual defects, such as astigmatism or presbyopia.

 

 

Toric implants
Toric implants make it possible to compensate for the astigmatism linked to the cornea, that is to say its anomalies in curvature responsible for distortions of the retinal image at all distances. The correction by the implant of such a visual defect makes it possible to improve vision without optical correction associated with a given distance, thus making it possible to avoid wearing corrective lenses, by far in most cases. These implants require positioning along a very precise axis, evaluated during the preoperative examination. However, such an implant may not be placed in the event of certain operational incidents.
The correction of astigmatism by the implant may be incomplete, possible complementary gestures can be proposed to improve it: surgical repositioning of the implant or refractive corneal surgery. Toric implants in Belgium are supported by INAMI when the preoperative astigmatism diopter is above 2 cylindrical diopters in the corneal plane.

 

 

 

Multifocal and multifocal toric implants
The standard implant placed during lens surgery is said to be "monofocal", that is to say allowing focusing at a predetermined distance: far, intermediate or near. Additional correction is therefore usually necessary with monofocal implants. So-called “multifocal” implants can therefore be offered to you, in order to reduce or eliminate the wearing of corrective lenses from both near and far. The optical characteristics of these implants may be slightly different depending on the model.
 Benefits:
- With current multifocal implants, more than 90% of patients do not wear glasses for most of their daily life.
- These implants also allow a stable optical correction over time, and to correct most of the associated visual defects and in particular astigmatism for the multifocal toric implant. Their optical performance is high, which induces high satisfaction indices.
- Visual performance improves over time, and results are optimized by the operation of the second eye.
 Possible disadvantages:
- Not all patients can benefit from such implants, since many ocular pathologies associated with cataracts contraindicate their use; your ophthalmologist must therefore carry out a detailed assessment aimed at eliminating any contraindications,
- The implant calculation (or biometric calculation) used to determine its power must be extremely precise to avoid any residual refractive defect; however, a significant refractive defect limiting the expected visual result may benefit from a secondary surgical adjustment. Non-exhaustively, the following may be offered: laser surgery of the cornea, replacement of the implant placed or the placement of a second implant in addition. Your ophthalmologist is at your disposal to explain the terms to you.
- In the event of an operational incident (extensive rupture of the posterior capsule), such an implant may not be placed.
- Exceptionally, the brain cannot get used to the new vision produced by these implants and the only possible solution is then to remove it to exchange it for a standard “monofocal” implant.

- Certain professions or certain activities may contraindicate the multifocal implant.
- The halos, perceptible in the evening around light sources (car headlights,
street lights…), initially present in most cases, generally fade with the
time.
- In a very small percentage of cases, these halos can make driving at night
difficult.
- Glare phenomena are also reported with an increase in the
sensitivity to light, this phenomenon diminishing after a few months, and easily compensated by
wearing tinted glasses.
- Visual tiredness is sometimes felt, linked to a moderate reduction in sensitivity
to contrasts. More lighting for reading activities is usually sufficient,
more rarely extra glasses. Occasional glasses may also be offered during
driving at night or for the computer.
Multifocal and multifocal toric implants generally justify an additional cost and in Belgium, they are not reimbursed by INAMI.

 


In conclusion, these sophisticated implants require specific means of investigation before
their fitting, to allow great independence vis-à-vis the wearing of corrective lenses, with a
improved quality of life; they can be used in first intention, but also during a
reoperation on a monofocal implant previously placed. The implants described in this document
represent an option and are not mandatory; surgery with monofocal implants gives
rule of very good results, at the cost of an optical correction by glasses more often necessary.

Source : SFO

Les Implants Intraoculaires

La chirurgie du cristallin, que ce soit dans le cadre d’une chirurgie réfractive du cristallin clair ou d’une chirurgie de la cataracte, s’accompagne systématiquement, sauf exception, de la pose d’un implant intraoculaire destiné à remplacer votre cristallin. Cet implant est porteur d’une puissance optique, au même titre que des lunettes ou des lentilles pré-cornéennes.

 

 

Implants monofocaux

Les calculs d’implants réalisés préalablement à la chirurgie permettent d’améliorer ou de compenser habituellement la myopie ou l’hypermétropie. Les implants classiques sont les implants monofaux, c'est à dire qu'ils permettent de compenser la myopie ou l'hypermétropie préopératoire du patient. Les patients voient d'habitude bien sans lunettes de loin, mais doivent porter des verres correcteurs pour la presbytie et éventuellement pour l'astigmatisme résiduel. Les implants monofocaux sont pris en charge en Belgique par la sécurité sociale INAMI dans le cadre d'une chirurgie de cataracte. 

 

Toutefois, il existe également des implants plus sophistiqués, corrigeant d’autres défauts visuels, comme l’astigmatisme ou la presbytie.

Implants toriques
Les implants toriques permettent de compenser l’astigmatisme lié à la cornée c'est-à-dire ses anomalies de courbure responsables de distorsions de l’image rétinienne à toutes les distances. La correction par l’implant d’un tel défaut visuel permet d’améliorer la vision sans correction optique associée à une distance donnée, permettant ainsi d’éviter le port de verres correcteurs, de loin dans la plupart des cas. Ces implants nécessitent un positionnement selon un axe bien précis, évalué lors de l’examen préopératoire. Toutefois un tel implant pourrait ne pas être posé en cas de survenue de certains incidents opératoires.
La correction de l’astigmatisme par l’implant peut être incomplète, d’éventuels gestes complémentaires peuvent être proposés pour l’améliorer : le repositionnement chirurgical de l’implant ou une chirurgie réfractive cornéenne. Les implants toriques ​en Belgique sont pris en charge par l'INAMI lorsque la dioptrie d'astigmatisme préopératoire est au-delà de 2 dioptrie cylindriques au plan cornéen.

Implants multifocaux et multifocaux toriques
L’implant standard posé lors de la chirurgie du cristallin est dit « monofocal », c’est-à-dire permettant la mise au point à une distance prédéterminée : de loin, intermédiaire ou de près. Une correction additionnelle est donc habituellement nécessaire avec les implants monofocaux. Des implants dits « multifocaux » peuvent donc vous être proposés, de façon à réduire ou supprimer le port de verres correcteurs de loin comme de près. Les caractéristiques optiques de ces implants peuvent être légèrement différentes selon les modèles.
 Avantages :
- Avec les implants multifocaux actuels, plus de 90 % des patients ne portent pas de lunettes pour l’essentiel de la vie courante.
- Ces implants permettent en outre une correction optique stable dans le temps, et de corriger la plupart des défauts visuels associés et notamment l’astigmatisme pour l’implant multifocal torique. Leurs performances optiques sont élevées, ce qui induit de hauts indices de satisfaction.
- Les performances visuelles s’améliorent avec le temps, et les résultats sont optimisés par l’opération du deuxième oeil.
 Inconvénients possibles :
- Tous les patients ne peuvent pas bénéficier de tels implants, car de nombreuses pathologies oculaires associées à la cataracte contre-indiquent leur usage ; votre ophtalmologiste devra donc pratiquer un bilan détaillé visant à éliminer d’éventuelles contre-indications,
- Le calcul d’implant (ou calcul biométrique) servant à en déterminer la puissance doit être extrêmement précis pour éviter tout défaut réfractif résiduel; toutefois un défaut réfractif significatif limitant le résultat visuel escompté peut faire bénéficier d’un ajustement chirurgical secondaire. De manière non exhaustive, pourront être proposés : une chirurgie au laser de la cornée, un échange de l’implant posé ou la pose d’un deuxième implant en complément. Votre ophtalmologiste se tient à votre disposition pour vous en expliquer les modalités.
- En cas d’incident opératoire (rupture étendue de la capsule postérieure), un tel implant pourrait ne pas être posé.
- Exceptionnellement, le cerveau n’arrive pas à s’habituer à la nouvelle vision produite par ces implants et la seule solution possible est alors le retrait de celui-ci pour l’échanger pour un implant standard « monofocal ».

- Certaines professions ou certaines activités peuvent contre-indiquer l’implant multifocal.
- Les halos, perceptibles le soir autour des sources de lumière (phares de voiture,
lampadaires…), présents initialement dans la majorité des cas, s’estompent généralement avec le
temps.
- Dans un très faible pourcentage de cas, ces halos peuvent rendre la conduite nocturne
difficile.
- Des phénomènes d’éblouissement sont également signalés avec une augmentation de la
sensibilité à la lumière, ce phénomène s’atténuant après quelques mois, et facilement compensé par
le port de verres teintés.
- Une fatigabilité visuelle est parfois ressentie, liée à une réduction modérée de la sensibilité
aux contrastes. Un éclairage plus important pour les activités de lecture est le plus souvent suffisant,
plus rarement des verres d’appoint. Un port occasionnel de lunettes peut également être proposé lors
de la conduite nocturne ou pour l’ordinateur.
Les implants multifocaux et multifocaux toriques justifient généralement d’un surcoût et en Belgique, ils ne sont pas remboursés par l'INAMI.

 


En conclusion, ces implants sophistiqués nécessitent des moyens d’investigation spécifiques avant
leur pose, pour permettre une grande indépendance vis-à-vis du port de verres correcteurs, avec une
qualité de vie améliorée ; ils peuvent être utilisés en première intention, mais également lors d’une
réintervention sur implant monofocal préalablement posé. Les implants décrits dans ce document
représentent une option et ne sont pas obligatoires ; la chirurgie avec implants monofocaux donne en
règle de très bons résultats, au prix d’une correction optique par lunettes plus souvent nécessaire.

Source : SFO

Votre Médecin Spécialiste Ophtalmologue à Bruxelles et à Namur. Suivez le Dr Vincent QIN sur les réseaux sociaux!

  • LinkedIn Social Icône
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Copyright 2020 by Dr. Vincent Qin. All rights reserved.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now